Symud at y prif gynnwys

Scientific Committee

The Cancer Research Wales Scientific Committee makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees on funding decisions and advise on the charity's Research Strategy.

Our Scientific Committee members are:

Prof Chris Fegan - Chair

Prof Fegan is a retired clinical haematologist and Professor Emeritus at Cardiff University. Prof Fegan is also the former Director of Research and Development for Cardiff and Vale University Health Board and co-founder and Chief Medical Officer at Telonostix.

Prof Huw Griffiths

Prof Griffiths is Professor Emeritus at Swansea University, with expertise in medical physics and medical imaging for many cancer types. Prof Griffiths has previously sat on award panels for several major funding organisations, including the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council.

Dr Heather Wilkes

Dr Wilkes is a GP based in Briton Ferry and is the national lead for Rapid Diagnostic Centres in Wales, with expertise in primary care and health systems.

Prof Shareen Doak

Prof Doak is Professor of Genotoxicology and Cancer in Swansea University Medical School, where she is co-lead of the In Vitro Toxicology Group. She is a UK and EUROTOX Registered Toxicologist, an invited Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB) and an elected Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales (FLSW).

Dr Mark Davies

Dr Davies is a consultant oncologist in Swansea University Health Board, specialising in the treatment of breast cancer, and previously undertook a PhD in medical genetics at Cardiff University. Dr Davies' research focuses on personalised cancer care.